Homerton International Security Conference

Posted on April 22nd, 2016 in Local News

The Home Affairs Select Committee held an International Security Conference in Homerton College, Cambridge, as part of its inquiry into Countering Extremism.

The conference was attended by over 120 delegates, ranging from police, ambassadors, high commissioners, community organisations, academics and think tanks.

The conference agenda, including speakers, can be seen here:

10.30 am


Welcome by Professor Geoffrey Ward, Principal of Homerton College

Welcome by Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP, Committee Chairman

10.40 am Keynote Speech: Chief Constable Simon Cole, NPCC Lead for Prevent
11.00 am Panel: Tackling Radicalisation and the Counter-Extremism Strategy

Chair: Tim Loughton MP, Home Affairs Select Committee

Cllr Muhammad Butt, Leader, London Borough of Brent

Fiyaz Mughal OBE, Founder and Director, Faith Matters

Dr Sara Silvestri, Senior Lecturer, City University London

12.00 pm Panel: Tackling Terrorism – Security and Policing

Chair: Nusrat Ghani MP, Home Affairs Select Committee

Lawrence Ward, Global Head of Security, PA Consulting & former Serjeant at Arms

Rt Hon Mark Simmonds, COO, Counter Extremism Project

Dr Lydia Wilson, Research Fellow, University of Oxford

George Selim, Director, Countering Violent Extremism Task Force, US State Department

1.00 pm Keynote Speech: Ali Soufan, CEO Soufan Group
1.30 pm Lunch
2.30 pm Keynote Speech: Rob Wainwright, Director of Europol
2.50 pm Panel: Developing the Counter Narrative

Chair: Naz Shah MP, Home Affairs Select Committee

Zahed Amanullah, Head of Counter Narratives, Institute for Strategic Dialogue

Ameena Blake, Assistant Secretary General, Muslim Council of Britain

Murtaza Shaikh, Co-Director, Averroes

Rafat Al Akhali, Fellow, University of Oxford and former Yemeni Minister for Youth

3.50 pm Keynote Speech: Lord Ahmad, Minister for Countering Extremism
4.10 pm


4.30 pm

Final Keynote Speech: Lt. Gen. Dambazau, Minister for Internal Affairs, Nigeria


Closing remarks by Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP, Committee Chairman